Week 6

Green

“The Reaching

2014.02.15 Green SOOC Edit 7

Last week, our challenge was “night sky.” This week, our challenge set us on green. Not just that it made us ready to go and take a photo, but the actual theme was green. Do you see what I did with the bold letters in the title of this piece? If you’re good at the jumble, it won’t be difficult to decipher. Some of the other photos have been fantastic, as usual. You’ll have to check out the other guys’ work linked at the bottom of this post.

This has been a busy week, and an even busier weekend for me. I’ve not had a chance to get out and take a photograph, which seems to be the norm recently. I saw this stick today and the light green moss upon it and really wanted to capture the strange beauty of it.

Lichens, not unlike this one here, reach for the sunlight. It is their whole existence. It is all they know to do. At times in the winter, I feel the same. I feel like the sun is all I crave. We don’t get the harshest winters by far. We don’t have snow every day, but we do have long, dreary weeks. We will go week at a time without seeing the sun, and when it does come back out, I realize just how much I’ve missed it. Just like this little piece of moss, I realize that I too want to reach for the sun. I want it to warm my bones and kiss my face with light.

I’m looking forward to spring now. Today was a beautiful day in the 60’s and gave me a glimpse of what is right around the corner.

What is your favorite season? (does anyone answer “winter” to do that?)

All of the participants are as follows: [in no particular order]

Until next time…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Week 6

  1. Great play there on the theme.. Love it.. Me to want to reach for the sunlight and crave sun… Winter “blues” have definitely gotten to me especially with the snow we got earlier and going almost 2 weeks without seeing the sun or night sky. Spring can’t come soon enough and bring back some color in this brown and gray world. We will make it into the 60’s this coming week.. YAY.. We did manage to break into 50’s the last 3 days.

    As you might know the reason I proposed this challenge was me to had shoot to little and been ignoring my blog for a long while. By getting together as a “gang” we help push each other forward and make things happen. Pictures end up being taken and blog posts are being made. Once we get into the habit it should be easier to keep things moving and not fall into oblivion.

    Cheers keep it up. Great image. Love the background.

    • Thanks, Eje! I caught it right at sunset…it was probably about 15 minutes before it was too dark to shoot. Lots of great, golden light. I love shooting in that time of day. Honestly, I almost waited too late. By the time we got home from running an errand, I had to run right back outside and shoot this.

  2. I like this Bruce for several reasons. I was a forester (Woodsman) for many years so have a deep love for trees, moss and lichen, they hold a beauty that cannot be replicated. It’s a nice spin on the theme too, although it did take me an hour to decipher your word jumble 😉 As for the weather here in Blighty…its raining, and when it’s not raining it’s errrr raining :-/

    • ha ha…too funny about the jumble, Pete. That’s cool that you appreciate the lichen and moss like I do. I grew up in the country, in between two lakes, so there was a lot of moss around. A very humid area, and they just thrive.

  3. hdrtist says:

    Brilliant shot and a unique take on the theme, Bruce. I really like this shot a lot. The subtlety of the green lichen against the orange and brown is harmonious and beautiful. Top notch!

  4. chris lane says:

    This shot is wonderful bruce. really like the muted colors and the light. The bokeh of the sunlight in the background really helps the composition as well. Interesting how the top of the image drops out of focus. Well done.

    • I was glad it turned out like you said, Chris. I was a little worried that the light green lichen would even show up, shooting toward the sunlight. It worked though. When I first tried it, I had the background too blown out. I think the balance turned out just right in the end though.

  5. […] in the week, I posted my interpretation of the “green” theme. This lichen-inspired photo had some nice, warm tones from the golden sun setting in the […]

Leave a Reply

